Welcome to WeAreSMRT.com. Click here to register

Historicity of Jesus

BS = Bible Study... Get it?

Moderator: BaldySlaphead

Historicity of Jesus

Postby Milo » Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:38 pm

Anyone interested in a discussion of merits/pitfalls of the mythicists case for a non historical Jesus?
Stop doubting and beleive Milo. Then everything will make sense.
Milo

Re: Historicity of Jesus

Postby IntellectualNinja » Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:36 pm

Not unless historians start to take the idea seriously. Conspiracy theories and what-not are fun, but some people take them waaaay too seriously.
Officially "A fundie of a different stripe."
IntellectualNinja

Postby zilch » Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:09 pm

Sure, I'm interested, milo. I'm no expert, though. Fwiw, I don't think the evidence is conclusive one way or another.
You were born. And so you're free. So happy birthday.
- Laurie Anderson
zilch

Postby Milo » Mon Jun 30, 2014 3:50 pm

Well, some historians are starting to take it seriously. The difference between a Jesus who was basically a no body and that his followers turned into God is not very different from a pre-existent son of God revealed by scripture and revelation that was turned into a man. It is a question that probably will never be answered in a definitive way and in any case will not change any opinions on Jesus. I don't believe any man was God in human flesh because I don't believe there is a God therefore it doesn't matter if Jesus really walked the earth. Whether or not the mythicists view turns out to be correct or not, it does open up interesting questions on the origins of Christianity.

Please don't join a discussion if you are not interested.
Milo

Postby E-lad » Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:35 pm